Rumor about Estes not producing cluster kits anymore- Is it true?

bernomatic
Site Admin
Site Admin

#1 Rumor about Estes not producing cluster kits anymore- Is it true?

Post by bernomatic »

I heard a rumor that Estes was going to phase out cluster rockets and not pursue this facet of the hobby anymore. Not that I have seen a lot of kits from Estes ever with clusters, but to totally neglect this part of the hobby?

I suppose it is just a matter that no longer is it necessary to bundle together a bunch of engines to get enough thrust to lift a lard ass rocket off the pad. Instead you can just build an engine mount for a more powerful engine. Simpler and cheaper in the long run? I wonder.

I know Rocket will sound off about this, but I have little experience with clusters having only in the past couple of years building and flying a Estes Ranger clone.
Chief Cook -n- bottle washer
luke strawwalker
Space Admiral
Space Admiral

#2 Re: Rumor about Estes not producing cluster kits anymore- Is it true?

Post by luke strawwalker »

HAVE they built and sold any cluster kits in recent memory?? The last one I can recall was one of the "X-Prize" kits that used a pair of motors.

I don't think they've been particularly big players in that part of the hobby anyway. Given that their new "starters" suck ass by all accounts and do well just to light off ONE motor, attempting to light two or more motors with the sorry things would be akin to suicide methinks.